Nanoscience NY

CUNY NY Skyline logo

Event Home


Speaker Biographies


Poster Abstracts

Active and Adaptive Materials
October 22nd and 23rd 2015, ASRC

The CUNY Advanced Science Research Center (ASRC) Nanoscience Initiative hosted its latest iteration of the Nanoscience NY series, Active & Adaptive Materials, on October 22 and 23. Featuring an international group of speakers, including Dr. Lee Cronin of the University of Glasgow, Dr. David G. Lynn of Emory University, Dr. Jan van Esch from Delft University of Technology and Dr. Samuel I. Stupp of Northwestern University (pictured below), the program focused on a number of different research fields in nano-molecular chemistry.

Professor Samuel Stupp

"I was very pleased with the outstanding and thought-provoking discussions that took place over both days," said Dr. Rein V. Ulijn, Director of the ASRC Nanoscience Initiative. "The collection of presentations was extremely broad, providing a truly comprehensive view on the state of the art in the emerging field of active and adaptive nanotechnology. As New York's new focal point for high end research in Nanoscience, I look forward to seeing how the ASRC and the Nanoscience Initiative can help provide the tools needed to continue these advances."

The ASRC Auditorium

After the first day's symposium sessions, Dr. Cronin led a talk titled "The Evolutionary Genesis Machine", a discussion on how chemists may go about creating new types of truly synthetic life, put on in coordination with the NYC Skeptics Society. Talks from Dr. Elisa Riedo of the ASRC and The City College of New York, Dr. Adam Braunschweig of the University of Miami and Dr. Andreas Walther of Aachen University highlighted the second day's session.

Nearly 100 attendees took part in the two-day symposium, which also included a poster session on the ASRC's ground floor. Four submissions were awarded prizes. The winners of the Soft Matter and Materials Horizons prizes received a years subscription to the respective journals and the Journal of Applied Polymer Science and Advanced Science prize winners received Wiley book vouchers.

Rein Ulijn with Poster Prize Winners Noemie-Manuelle Dorval Courchesne and Peter A. Korevaar

Soft Matter - Peter A. Korevaar (Harvard University)

Materials Horizons - Noemie-Manuelle Dorval Courchesne (Harvard University)

Journal of Applied Polymer Science - Lye Lin Lock (Johns Hopkins University)

Advanced Science - Ekaterina Selivanovitch (St. John's University)

Sponsor: Soft Matter Sponsor: Nature Nanotechnology Sponsor: Materials Horizons Sponsor: Perkin Elmer Sponsor: Chem by Cell Press Sponsor: Journal of Applied Polymer Science Sponsor: NYC Skeptics Sponsor: Advanced Science

Grant funding provided by Army Research Office
Sponsor: Army Research Office